

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

June 27, 2012

For more information, contact Billie Hall, President and CEO, Sunflower Foundation, 785-232-3000 or 866-232-3020.

## **Sunflower Foundation Announces Trustee and Advisory Appointments**

TOPEKA – The Sunflower Foundation: Health Care for Kansans announces the appointment of two members to its <u>Board of Trustees</u> by Kansas Attorney General Derek Schmidt. The appointees include Reggie Robinson, Lawrence, reappointed to a second term, and Kraig Gross, Hays, reappointed to a third term. In addition, Howard Shuler, Topeka, was reappointed to a second term by Blue Cross Blue Shield of Kansas. The three began their new terms in June.

Reggie Robinson is professor of law and director of the Center for Law and Government at Washburn University School of Law in Topeka. He was appointed to his first term on the Sunflower Foundation board in 2009. Kraig Gross is president of Kansas Natural Gas, Inc. He was appointed to his first term in 2006. Howard Shuler is retired superintendent of Schools for Auburn-Washburn USD 437. He was appointed to his first term in 2009.

The Sunflower Foundation is governed by a nine-member Board of Trustees. Eight trustees are appointed through a process overseen by the Kansas Attorney General and the ninth member is appointed by Blue Cross Blue Shield of Kansas. Trustees are limited to serving three three-year terms.

At its June meeting, the Board of Trustees elected its new board officers. The officers will serve one year terms, beginning July 1, 2012.

Reggie Robinson, Lawrence, was elected to chair the board.

Caroline Williams, Wichita, was elected to serve as secretary. Williams recently retired as vice president of distribution power delivery with Westar Energy. She was appointed to the foundation board in 2007.

-more-

Kraig Gross, Hays, was re-elected as treasurer. He also will chair the board's finance committee and has served as treasurer since 2008.

The Attorney General also made three appointments to the Sunflower Foundation's <u>Community Advisory Committee</u> (CAC). The three appointees are Barbara Carswell, Lawrence, appointed to a second term; Dr. Glen Singer, Iola, appointed to a first term; and Susan Cocannon, Beloit, appointed to a first term. Barbara Carswell is vice president at Capitol Federal Savings in Topeka and was appointed to her first term in 2009. Dr. Singer is a family practice physician. Susan Cocannon is executive director of Mitchell County Regional Medical Foundation in Beloit. The new members began their new terms in June.

The nine-member Community Advisory Committee nominates candidates for the foundation's board and acts in an advisory role to the foundation. Eight members of the committee are appointed by the Kansas Attorney General; the chair of the Sunflower Foundation Board of Trustees serves as the ninth member. CAC members also are limited to three three-year terms.

The foundation was established in 2000. Its mission is to serve as a catalyst for improving the health of Kansans, which it supports through a program of grants, special initiatives and related activities. Further details of the foundation's programs and grants are available at <u>www.sunflowerfoundation.org</u>.

-30-